Link Search Menu Expand Document

Add Machine Deployment

To add a new Machine Deployment, use the Add Machine Deployment Button in the right top corner.

add_node_deployment

This brings up the Add Machine Deployment-dialog, which has the same options as at cluster creation time:

add_dialog

After pressing Add Machine Deployment:

add_button

the new nodes will be created. You can look at the progress in the Machine Deployment details.

Click on the new Machine Deployment:

node_deployment_overview

and wait until all nodes are green.

node_deployment_status

Delete Machine Deployment

To delete a Machine Deployment use the trash symbol in either the list:

delete_from_list

or the details page:

delete_from_details

Rename Machine Deployment

Machine Deployment can’t be renamed. So we need to create a second one and delete the old one.

But there is a Gotcha! Deleting a Machine Deployment will delete all nodes at the same time. Depending on our replicas and number of nodes, that can lead to a downtime.

To mitigate this, you should reduce the replica of the Machine Deployment step by step until it is 0 and then delete the Machine Deployment.

The Pods will most likely rescheduled to the new host directly, but it is possible that some pod will end up on old nodes. This will lead to many rescheduled. If that is a problem, it is possible to first cordon all old nodes with kubectl cordon <node name> and then slowly reduce the replicas afterwards.